32 Comments

Hate to ask, but can we start another Ben Simmons trade thread? GSoM has one and there is some decent discourse. Would love to revisit the scenarios here with our members and hear their points of view.

Expand full comment

I am all for more threads, I am just so sick of hearing the name Ben Simmons. Everything in my being tells me there is no way they trade for him, especially not for Draymond.

Expand full comment

I would be willing to at least entertain the notion of Green a the next couple of 1st round picks for Simmons. The Sixers however will not. Even then I wouldn't be sure the team will be better, they will however get a few years younger and have a guy on a longer contract that will still be around when Moody and Kuminga are stars.

Expand full comment

I doubt much has changed in the minds of folks around here. In general is seems that teams are interested if the price is right, but Morey is waiting… we’ll see how it plays out.

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2021Liked by Eric Apricot

Gods, those early season videos. Oof.

How in the world did we go 37-26 with Steph lol?

Expand full comment
Sep 2, 2021Liked by Eric Apricot

Because, as Steve said: "We're going to be a different team after the first 20 games"

And they were... just, you know, a bunch of injuries and weirdness in the middle there.

Expand full comment

And because Steph Curry went on a tear that only ~10 players in history can even dream of (and that might be an over-estimate).

Expand full comment

And I expect something similar this year at some point ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Expand full comment
author

You may want to sit down for this update.

***

Source: Mavs are signing guard JaQuori McLaughlin to a two-way deal. He played for the Warriors’ summer league team.

https://twitter.com/espn_macmahon/status/1433178907302371334?s=21

Expand full comment

He coulda been a contender

Expand full comment

Give us Luka then. 'Tis only fair.

Expand full comment

As long as it doesn't involve Ben Simmons...

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2021Liked by Eric Apricot

Apricot you have that silky smooth, warm-tea narration voice that could make the Dewey Decimal System sound riveting.

Expand full comment
author

Now my dear friends, my favorite part of Old Dewey, it’s seven ninety six, the section for basketball books. But first some news from Lake Wobegon and a medley of songs about cats

Expand full comment

A dark night and The City that knows how to keep its secrets. But on the twelfth floor of Dub Nation HQ, one man is still trying to find explanations to every play's persistent questions. Eric Noir - Private Eye.

Expand full comment
author

Basketball noir in the tradition of Draymond Chandler, Slam Spade, Mike Hammer

Expand full comment

Oh no. You've hit me in my public radio feels.

Expand full comment
author

Tired: PER

Wired: NPR

Expand full comment

Retired: Lake Wobegon

Expand full comment

Rehired: Andre Igoudala

Expand full comment

Ehired: Adrianza

(Giants fan joke)

Expand full comment

(Or if you're feeling meaner; Expired)

Expand full comment
deletedSep 2, 2021Liked by punk basketball
Comment deleted
Expand full comment

Congrats!

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment

"He does not want to trade James Wiseman or Jonathan Kuminga." - THIS - glad to hear it.

Expand full comment

For some reason or another, those two (along with Wiggins) are treated like week old chopped liver in all the trade discussions I've ever read. It's whatever... just can't trade them while their market value is so low.

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment

They have much more legally enforceable authority over the home teams. And if they enforce on visiting teams, crazy sports fans will create a distraction by calling attention to the competitive advantage gained in the sport, when instead the cities want to focus on driving their vaccination goals...

Expand full comment

Visiting players being forced to sit would be a competitive disadvantage and would be, IMHO, very hard to make stick. Forcing the local team to sit players is a different proposition.

For myself - I'm glad. Screw people who aren't willing to get vaccinated and put everyone else at risk. Of course leaving out those with legitimate medical reasons for not being vaccinated, who I would assume are excluded.

Expand full comment

Maybe city officials are just trying to force a trade of Wiggins who, IIRC, said he wasn't going to get vaccinated. And to force Bazmore off the team. Hard to figure how this policy makes any sense at all unless somebody in the mayor's office with season tickets really hates those guys.

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment

Ring-chasers flocking to Nets and Lakers. Not surprising.

Expand full comment
author

Every front runner gets ring chasers, but feels like LAL is setting a record for sheer numbers

Expand full comment

Lace 'em up Barkley!

Expand full comment